Greetings from Bangalore, part two

Posted: July 18, 2011 by Jenny in Uncategorized

So let me pick up from where Matt left off with my intro…

Before coming to NYU’s Stern School of Business, I worked in public health. A fellowship with the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services brought me from my California home to Washington, DC. There I had the opportunity to serve with colleagues, dedicated to improving and protecting the nation’s health, on federal public health programs that ranged from recruitment and retention of healthcare workforce in underserved areas to public health emergency preparedness across the country. With my federal system experience in hand, I moved into the consulting, non-profit sphere at AcademyHealth, where I focused on knowledge transfer strategies (the translation and application of knowledge and research into public health practice and policy). My projects involved building and managing learning networks aimed at addressing health disparities; using research to inform and promote consumer-centered, national health information technology policy; and increasing the awareness and uptake of the latest federally-vetted data to improve clinical practices and policies.

As a part of the Stern community, I am looking to better understand how to create and scale positive impact on the health and quality of life of others, especially vulnerable populations. Our project in India reflects why I made the decision to go to business school – to strengthen my business acumen and bridge that with my public health experience to develop sustainable, culturally appropriate solutions for key health issues. My SIIF experience is enabling me to not only directly apply what my MBA has taught me so far, but also realize a vision that I had originally just put down on paper.

Here let the summer stories ensue…

Leave a Reply

